Energy Efficient Management of Parallel Systems,

Platforms, and Computations

This special session aims at gathering researchers working in the broad areas of energy-efficient computing and communication systems. This session seeks submissions addressing the different aspects of system management for energy efficient parallel applications and platforms. Emphasis is given to approaches and analyses targeting real-world energy-efficient system implementations as well as novel approaches to energy-efficient design. This special session is organized in cooperation with the COST Action 1305, the Network for Sustainable Ultrascale Computing (NESUS).

Important Dates:

Paper submission: 10th Nov 2017
Acceptance notification: 5th Dec 2017
Camera ready due: 22nd Dec 2017
Conference: 21st - 23rd Mar 2018


  • Performance and power dissipation issues
  • Energy, performance and quality of experience trade-offs
  • Energy, thermal and power models for parallel applications and platforms
  • Energy consumption profiling of applications and services
  • Optimization approaches for dynamic energy management
  • Hardware and application monitoring for energy efficiency
  • Energy Efficient wired and wireless networking for distributed computing
  • Design and analysis of energy/performance benchmarks
  • Evaluation of approaches across domains, e.g., from embedded systems to server domains
  • Energy harvesting methodologies, techniques, and systems
  • Energy efficiency in the HPC-BigData convergence era
  • Energy efficiency of HPC in Cloud, Fog and Edge Computing
  • Energy efficient computing for Financial Technologies and applications
  • Innovative design and management methodologies for energy management

Programme Co-chairs:

Sebastien Lafond, Abo Akademi University, Finland, <slafond[AT]abo[DOT]fi>

Laurent Lefèvre, Inria, France, <laurent[DOT]lefevre[AT]inria[DOT]fr>

Jean-Marc Pierson, IRIT - University of Toulouse, France, <pierson[AT]irit[DOT]fr>

Tim Süß, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Germany, <t[DOT]suess[AT]uni-mainz[DOT]de>

Tuan Trinh,Corvinus University of Budapest , Hungary, <anhtuan[DOT]trinh[AT]>

Programme Committee:

Marcos Assuncao, Inria, LIP, ENS Lyon, France

Domenico Talia, University of Calabria, Italy

Attila Marosi, Institute for computer science and control - Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Hungary

Zhiyi Huang, University of Otago, New Zealand

Olivier Gluck, Université de Lyon, France

Jörg Keller, FernUniversität in Hagen, Germany

Lionel Morel, INSA Lyon, France

Philipp Gschwandtner, University of Innsbruck, Austria

Lars Nagel, Universität Mainz, Germany

Maxime Pelcat, IETR/INSA Rennes, France

Péter Fehér, Corvinus University of Budapest, Hungary

Georges Dacosta, Toulouse Institute of Computer Science Research, France

Simon Holmbacka, Åbo Akademi University, Finland

Nick Johnson, EPCC - The University of Edinburgh, UK

Markus Mäskers, Universität Mainz, Germany

Lingfang Zeng, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China